twitter  youtube-logo   imdb_fb_logo-1730868325-_cb282921960_  npx  facebook1

Patrick Flynn is an award-winning filmmaker, playwright, and webseries creator based in Washington, D.C. His series I Live With This won Outstanding Series and Outstanding Writing at the 2012 L.A. Webfest. His series Long Distance Relationship took home Bronze at the 2016 TIVA-DC Peer Awards. The Capitol Fringe production of his play Giant Box of Porn was hailed by The Washington Post, Washington City Paper, and was named “Best of Fringe” by DC Metro Theatre Arts. His plays have been part of the DC Source Festival, the Kennedy Center’s Page-to-Stage Festival, Bethesda Play-in-a-Day, DC One-Minute Play Festival, and New York Fringe. He is a 10-year veteran of the 48 Hour Film Project and has received several awards including Best Film for his short For Whom the Whistle Blows. His first book Visual Literacy: A Practical Text on the Analysis, History, and Creation of Visual Media is available from Kendall-Hunt. He is a professor at American University & Catholic University and host of a podcast about original cast albums called The Original Cast available on iTunes.

Theatre (playwright)

Theatre (director)

  • Adventure Theatre MTC (2015-18)
  • Page-to-Stage (2016)
  • ComedySportzLA (2010)
  • American University Department of Performing Arts (2007)
  • Contemporary Stage Company (2006)

The 48 Hour Film Project

  • Shaolin Baby Shower (2017)
    • Best Cast Ensemble-Comedy
    • Audience Award
    • Best Score/Sound Design – Patrick Flynn
    • Best of Washington, DC – selected as a Top 10 Film
    • nominated: Best Comedy, Best Actress (Patricia Hurley Carpenter), Best Actress (Amanda Zeitler), Best Use of Line
  • For Whom the Whistle Blows (2016)
    • **Best Film**
    • Best Actor – Patrick Flynn
    • Best Director – Patrick Flynn
    • Best Cinematography: Honorable Mention – David Wardrick
    • Official Selection – Filmapalooza 2017
  • Great Day to Be a T.A. (2016)
    • Best Actress – Jenny Donovan
    • Best Libretto – Patrick Flynn
    • Best Choreography – Morganne Davies
    • Audience Award
    • Best of Washington, DC
  • Twelve O’Clock (2015)
    • *2nd Place-Best Film*
    • Best Actress – Suzanne Edgar
    • Best Writing – Patrick Flynn
    • Best Editing – Patrick Flynn
    • Best Song – “Time Ain’t on Your Side (The Theme from Twelve O’Clock)” – Patrick Flynn, Stephen Guidry-White, Claire Guidry-White
    • Best of Washington, DC
  • Less is More (2014)
  • Once Upon a Time in the DMV (2013)
    • Best Director: Honorable Mention – Patrick Flynn
    • Audience Award
    • Best of Washington, DC
  • Louise (2012)
  • Partners in Crime (2011)
    • Best Actress – Jenny Flack
    • Best Writing – Patrick Flynn
    • Audience Award
    • Best of Washington, DC
  • Ghost Date (2009)
    • Best of Los Angeles
  • The Rochambeau Kid (2007)
    • Best Sound Design
    • Best of Washington, DC
  • Watch Your Step (2006)


Short Film

Feature Film

  • Festivale
    • Neels Grant, Visions Film Festival, 2007



Other Awards

  • Barry Levinson Mentorship, American University (2006-07)
  • Station Break: “Pilot”: Best Teleplay (Visions Film Festival, 2006)